2016 WeatherTech International Challenge Album Two

OPTIMA Batteries
Elkhart Lake, WI

OPTIMA Batteries are the official batteries of Road America in Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin and one of our favorite events of the year is the/ WeatherTech International Challenge with Brian Redman, presented by Hawk. Vintage racecars spanning multiple decades converge on the legendary 4.048-mile circuit for a weekend or racing in incredible machines right out of the motorsports history books. The racers are split up into multiple classes and here are some of the winners-

Group 10 (Modern GT, Trans Am & Production cars)- Theo Bean from Lafayette, Louisiana won in his GT2A 1988 Nissan 300 ZXT (3000cc/turbo), running a best lap time of 2:15.421

Group 11 (Pre-War)- Rex Barrett of Roselle, Illinois won in his PWA 1933 Ford Indy Special (4096cc), running a best lap time of 3:06.182.

Group 12 (Corvair/Yenko Stinger)- Mike Levine of Cumming, Georgia won in his HGTO 1965 Chevrolet Crown Corvair Special (6300cc) running a best lap time of 2:43.522.

Group 1 (Historic Can-Am 1965-1974)- Dave Handy of Semora, North Carolina won in his CA1 1974 Shadow DN4 (8350cc), running a best lap time of 2:06.333.

Group 2 (Vintage Production, Sedans, Select Sports Racers)- Paul Quackenbush of Grants Pass, Oregon won in his VCPA 1963 Lotus Super 7 (1522cc), running a best lap time of 2:41.745.

Group 3 (Vintage Sports Racing Cars A&B Production)- A.C. D'Augustine of Breckenridge, Colorado won in his VASR 1965 Genie Mk 10B (5700cc), running a best lap time of 2:25.596

Group 4 (Monoposto Classic Formula Cars)- Steve Grundahl of Blue Mounds, Wisconsin won in his VFF 1970 Titan Mk 6 (1600cc), running a best lap time of 3:05.670

Group 5a (Monoposto F70 & Historic Sports Racing)- Kyle Buxton of Trabuco Canyon, California won in his HFA 1977 March 77B (1993cc), running a best lap time of 2:13.914

Group 5b (Monoposto F70 & Historic Sports Racing)- Fritz Seidel of Milwaukee, Wisconsin won in his HS2 2004 Carbir CS2 (2000cc), running a best lap time of 2:41.214

Group 6 (Big-bore Production Cars & Sedans)- Jody O'Donnell of Carrollton, Texas won in his HAP 1969 Chevrolet Corvette Coupe (7193cc), running a best lap time of 2:26.025

Group 7a (Masters Grand Prix- F5000)- Rick Parsons of Huntley, Illinois won in his HF5B 1976 Lola T332C (5000cc), running a best lap time of 2:09.464.

Group 7b (Masters Grand Prix- USA Formula One)- Gregory Thornton of Essex, United Kingdom won in his F 1977 Lotus 77 (3000cc), running a best lap time of 2:05.046.

Group 8 (Historic/Post-Historic Medium Displacement Production Cars & Sedans)- Frank Beck of Scottsdale, Arizona won in his HGT2 1972 Porsche 914/6 (2500cc), running a best lap time of 2:30.234

Group 9 (Modern Formula One, Indy, WSC/GTP/LMPP/DP)- Randy Johnson of Dallas, Texas won in his WSC 2007 Pescarolo 01 LMP (5000cc), running a best lap time of 2:00.540.

See a large gallery of images from the 2016 BRIC (Brian Redman International Challenge) by clicking on "View Full Gallery" below. You can also see another gallery of images from this event here.