Brian Hobaugh Edges Mark Stielow to win the BFGoodrich Hot Lap Challenge at the 2012 OUSCI

Ultimate Streetcar
OPTIMA Batteries
Pahrump, NV

Last year, Brian Hobaugh ran a 1:48.879 in the BF Goodrich Hot Lap Challenge, which resulted in a seventh place finish in that event. This year, Hobaugh improved on his previous best, running a 1:46.155, which was fast enough to take the top spot in this year's event, edging out Mark Stielow by just 28 thousandths of a second (1:46.183).

Warmer weather kept all the top times down from last year, but the bar has been raised once again for a top-20 finish, which is the final position for awarding points in the event. In 2011, Bob Michaels ran a 1:57.535 to finish 20th, while this year, Brad Coomer finished in 20th with a best lap of 1:57.282.

NASCAR K&N Series West driver, Dylan Kwasniewski set the benchmark time in his Royal Purple-sponsored Ford race car of 1:38.969, while Geoff May made a conservative lap on an Eric Buell Racing 1190RS of 1:47.149. Mike Ryan also made exhibition laps in his Freightliner Pikes Peak semi truck, posting a best time of 2:03.479.

The finishing positions for the rest of the field in the BF Goodrich Hot Lap Challenge are as follows:

3. Travis Hill
4. Todd Earsley
5. Danny Popp
6. Jim Holloway
7. Kyle Tucker
8. Karl Dunn
9. Phil Gerber
10. Ryan Mathews
11. Todd Rumpke
12. Bret Voelkel
13. Brian Finch
14. Steven Rupp
15. Fabryce Kutyba
16. Rob McGregor
17. Stacy Tucker
18. Dale Akuszewski
19. Mark Capener
20. Brad Coomer
21. Greg Davidson
22. Joey Seely
23. Ron Schwarz
24. Jessie Vaughn
25. Bob Bertelsen
26. Richard Caleel
27. Dennis McCarthy
28. Cliff Elliot
29. Jeff Cleary
30. Dan Howe
31. Herb Stuart
32. Chris Smith
33. John Buttermore
34. Blue Offutt
35. Ben Therrien
36. Zeke Peterson
37. Brian Davis
38. Mike Ardito
39. Paul Welch
40. David Brandt
41. Mark Bowler
42. Nick Licata
43. Chris Frick
44. Cole Quinnell
45. Albert Melchior
46. Josh Barnett
47. Curt Hill
48. Pedro Gonzalez
49. Grant Reierson
50. Dave Pulley
51. Todd Foust
52. Matthew Collins (DNS)

Watch the TV coverage from this event and other OUSCI finals for free on the OPTIMA Network, a free download on Roku.