DriveOPTIMA at Road America Results 2019

Ultimate Streetcar
Advance Auto Parts
Elkhart Lake, WI

OPTIMA's Search for the Ultimate Street Car, presented by Advance Auto Parts, returned to Road America in beautiful Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin for another round of street car action in 2019. Another sold-out field converged on America's National Park of Speed for two days of intense action and tight competition. So close was the competition, that several positions and even the Holley EFI GTL Class winner were decided by tie-breakers. The first tie-breaker in the series is the Lingenfelter Design & Engineering Challenge score, but in the event that also ended in a tie (as it did between the Corvettes of Chris Jacobs & Michael Rovere), the second tie-breaker is the QA1 Autocross.

See the top finishers in each class below, along with a massive gallery of images from the event and see the season point standings here.

Classic Car Liquidators GTV Class (pre-1990, 3200+ pounds)
1. Chris Smith, 1970 Chevrolet Camaro
2. Dusty Nixon, 1979 Chevrolet Camaro
3. Jim Stehlin, 1973 Chevrolet Camaro

RECARO GTS Class (post-1989, 3200+ pounds, two-seaters & awd vehicles)
1. Steve Kepler, 2013 Nissan GT-R
2. Jordan Priestley, 2017 Chevrolet Corvette
3. Ryan Mathews, 2002 Chevrolet Corvette

Holley EFI GTL Class (non-compacts under 3200 pounds)
1. Chris Jacobs, 2001 Chevrolet Corvette
2. Mike Rovere, 2008 Chevrolet Corvette
3. Jacob Fisher, 1985 Porsche 944

OPTIMA Chargers GTE Class (BEV electric vehicles)
1. John Laughlin, 2019 Tesla Model 3

GTC Class (two-wheel drive compacts, 107-inch wheelbase or less)
1. Brian Johns, 1993 Mazda RX-7
2. Darren Garvin, 1973 Datsun 240Z
3. Angela Barnhouse, 2005 Honda S2000

OPTIMA Batteries GT Class (post-1989, 3200+ pounds, 2wd sedans, 4-seater coupes, trucks, etc...)
1. Jonathan Blevins, 2008 Ford Mustang
2. John Grow, 2018 Chevrolet Camaro
3. Brendan King, 2018 Chevrolet Camaro

Outlaw Class (relaxed aero rules, pro drivers allowed)
1. Feras Qartoumy, 2008 Chevrolet Corvette
2. Ken Kelley, 1996 Ford Mustang

Spectre Performance Spirit of the Event Award: Bill Haynie, 2013 Ford Mustang