K&N 2017 Spring Fling Million Day One

While The K&N Spring Fling Million presented by OPTIMA Batteries began Wednesday with a free test & tune session sponsored by Yukon Gear & Axle. The Poulsen Trailers Shootout was also won by Pennsylvania's Dan Northrop and the day began with the official start of the event, the Maytag Silverstate Refrigeration $20,000-to-win race.The event itself is primarily a Super Pro only event, however as a way to include the many bottom bulb Pro-class cars that have previously-competed in that class at the first four years of the Vegas 'Fling, the event includes an elite Pro 32 field which included 32 bottom bulb cars. Those racers run separate from the Super Pro cars until a winner is crowned. That winner is then seeded into the sixth round of the Super Pro race and at that point is allowed to install a delay box if he or she chooses.

The day began sharply at 8 AM with one time trial for all competitors followed by eliminations. As would be expected, it takes quite bit of time to narrow down the field to the ladder round of 16 or less. The Pro 32 final came down ironically enough, to two Super Stock cars- former NHRA world champion Justin Lamb and RJ Torres, another hitter in the NHRA Division 7 Super Stock wars. In the final Lamb used an .014 reaction time and a dead-on the dial with a "3" for a .017 package to defeat Torres and move into the seventh round of the Super Pro class. After the sixth round of Super Pro, just nine cars will remain in the hunt, with the winner taking $20,000.

For the Super Pro round of 16, the winning players were Ken Sweo, Sean Shaffer, Blu Hayball, Mera Silvia in a door car, Jay Fitzgerald, Dan Lafferty in his fast Camaro, Lane Dicken, Courtland Carter, and of course the Pro 32 winner Lamb. Lafferty received a bye run moving him into the eighth round, based on his perfect reaction time in the previous round. Fellow door car driver, Silvia, joined him, as well as Shaffer, Hayball and Pro 32 winner Lamb once again.

With five cars left, the dragsters were outnumbered three to two. Hayball received the bye to move him to the semifinal round and Lamb topped Silvia to advance. Lafferty then defeated Shaffer to make up the round of three cars left with door cars still outnumbering the lone dragster. The rules are clear- if you've had a bye run previously, you're not eligible for another. However, all three remaining drivers already had a bye run, so the rights to the bye reverts to the best reaction time, which was Hayball, who had just received a bye the round before.

For the semifinals, Hayball took his bye run with the two remaining door cars of Lamb and Lafferty facing off in an epic showdown. Lafferty was .008 and dead-on with "5", while Lamb shut him out with a .005 light and dead-on with a "1." In the final, the Pro 32 winner Lamb left first with a .004 reaction time to Hayball's .031 but a .008 runout by Lamb handed the win to Hayball's dead-on the dial with a "5."

"This is a dream come true," said the Fort Hall, Idaho, racer. "I've dreamed about winning one of these for a long time." For more information, visit www.bracketraces.com for race results and other information. The entire event will continue to be broadcast live on www.Bangshift.com sponsored by JEGS and Hoosier Tires.