What is OPTIMA Ultimate Street Car?

Ultimate Streetcar
OPTIMA Batteries
Fontana, California
Tags: Driveoptima
The SEMA Show in Las Vegas is an annual gathering of the latest & greatest offerings from the automotive aftermarket. It was at that show, that the idea was hatched for the OPTIMA Ultimate Street Car Invitational (OUSCI), with the first event being run at Spring Mountain Motorsports Ranch, in Pahrump, Nevada in 2008. An immediate and unqualified success, the OUSCI became so popular, a qualifying series was launched in 2014, to help sort out which vehicles were really track-capable, street comfortable and show-stopping in their finish and attention to detail. 

OPTIMA's 2017 Search for the Ultimate Street Car series made seven stops before heading to Las Vegas and Fontana, California, was the last chance for West Coast competitors, who were looking to get an invitation to the big show. See a massive gallery of images from this event below, as well as the top finishers in each class. If you'd like to watch past episodes of this series, add the OPTIMA Network for free on Amazon Fire TV and start binge-watching today! See even more photos from this event here.

GTV Class (pre-1990, 3200+ pounds)
1. John Lazorack III, 1988 Chrysler Conquest
2. Brian Hobaugh, 1973 Chevy Camaro
3. Chad Ryker, 1968 Chevy Camaro

RECARO GTS Class (post-1989, 3200+ pounds, two-seaters & awd vehicles)
1. Jake Rozelle, 2003 Chevy Corvette
2. Austin Barnes, 2010 Dodge Viper
3. Jordan Priestley, 2017 Corvette

Holley EFI GTL Class (any non-compacts under 3200 pounds, including forced induction vehicles)
1. Rich Willhoff, 2006 Corvette
2. Robert DeuPree, 2009 Corvette
3. Logan Palmer, 2011 Corvette

GTE Class (BEV electric vehicles)
1. Matthew Scott, 2017 Hyundai Ioniq

GTC Class (naturally-aspirated two-wheel drive compacts, 107-inch wheelbase or less)
1. Glen Barnhouse, 2005 Honda S2000
2. Andrew Fritts, 2012 Ford Focus

Franklin Road Apparel GT Class (post-1989, 3200+ pounds, 2wd sedans, 4-seater coupes, trucks, etc...)
1. Kurt Robinson, 2015 Camaro
2. Dane Gonzalez, 2014 Ford Mustang
3. Michael Doscher, 2015 Ford Mustang

SPECTRE Performance Spirit of the Event Award: Kong Chang, 1993 Mazda RX7